Contesting a seat for PPAU - what would you do to increase your profile?

Here’s an interesting thought I’ve been mulling around for a couple of months now, and wanted to put it out for anyone to spitball and contribute.

Here at PPAU we’ve got some great policies, great members and great ideals. Naturally they don’t cover every part of Australia at the moment. If you were standing for election in a seat as a PPAU candidate, what would you be doing in the local community in the lead up (even 1, 2 years out) to give yourself a local profile for people to know you?

Remember people don’t always focus on policy. A lot of communities want to focus on the people they are electing and what they do and will do for the local community.

To start with, I’m thinking of starting to help out with charity events in the greater local area, whether its a soup kitchen, outreach service or similar to add to my portfolio. Then becoming involved in community organisations, involving with local business groups to increase my profile.

TL; DR What else could you do to put yourself out there personally into your community so if you run for parliament people would recognise you as being from their community?

4 Likes

I certainly do not wish to put a dampener on anything, but speaking entirely for myself, my perception of PPau is that it is the party to appeal to nerds and technologists (and I do not accept there is anything derogatory implied in the former appellation.)

However, what is required in a political front-person is a mind-set almost (but naturally I hope not entirely!) precluded by the very attributes which attract an individual to this party. What is required is a thinking, trustworthy, quick-thinking and committed salesperson type. I don’t know just how many internal contradictions I have just delineated, but suspect it is rather a lot…