Corporate Tax Policy

Continuing the discussion from Tax & welfare policy (v2.0):

Hi All

I’ve started this new thread to follow on from the Tax and welfare discussion as it was last active September last year.

I’m fairly new to the party and I’ve got a strong interest in tax reform so I wanted to throw a couple of ideas out there and see what people thought. Let me say from the outset, I understand one of the overall objectives of this party is to reduce the complexity of the tax and transfer system to reduce bureaucracy and compliance costs and none of my ideas conflict with that.

To start with, I’d like to suggest a minor change to our policy on the corporate tax rate. Basically, I think we should be aiming to lower it even further than we currently are.

In the party’s tax policy document, it states that we should support moves to a corporate tax rate, lowering it from 30% to 25%. I would suggest going even further, aiming for a corporate tax rate of 22%. Currently, the OECD average is 25% and by the time any corporate tax reform in Australia is passed, the OECD average is likely to be even lower as most advanced countries are moving to reduce corporate tax rates. Additionally, our competitors in the Asia Pacific region have an average corporate tax rate of 23%. Other countries like Ireland and Singapore have much lower corporate tax rates and even traditionally high taxing countries are moving in this direction. The UK for example, is moving to an 18% corporate tax rate by 2020.

High corporate taxes hurt economic growth and prosperity. Numerous modelling both from the private sector and the government has indicated this. In 2014, Treasury found a company income tax cut from 30% to 29% would increase the level of national income by between 0.15% and 0.35% in the long-term.

Taking another example, modelling by KPMG on a cut in Australia’s corporate tax rate from 30% to 22% indicated the following:
-Rise in investment of 4.1%
-Capital rises 4.3%